ABOUT

Crooked Lane Books was founded in 2014 to publish the highest quality crime fiction titles in both print and electronic editions. In 2020 we introduced a second line—Alcove Press—to publish upmarket book club fiction that explores family, friendship, and community.

We are distributed to the trade through Penguin Random House Publisher Services.

OUR TEAM

FAITH BLACK ROSS

Senior Editor Faith Black Ross has been with Crooked Lane Books since 2016 after more than a decade in publishing. Previously she handled mysteries and historical fiction for the Berkley Publishing Group (Penguin Random House). For Alcove Press, she’s looking for projects with great voice that give her a good laugh (or a good cry, but nothing too mawkish or anything with dead pets), especially if it involves history, fun settings, or food. Faith would love to receive projects perfect for fans of Paula McLain, Lauren Willig, Liane Moriarty, Graeme Simsion, Amor Towles.

TERRI BISCHOFF

Senior Editor Terri Bischoff began her life in books as a bookseller at Kramerbooks in Washington, D.C. After moving home to the Midwest, she worked at a feminist bookstore before purchasing and operating Booked for Murder in Madison, WI. She spent 10 years at Midnight Ink as their acquiring editor and published 36-40 books a year. Terri has a wealth of experience and knowledge in both mysteries and in bookselling, particularly as a book buyer and reviewer. Terri’s interests lie in mainstream suspense and thrillers, LGBTQIA, and diverse characters / storylines.

BEN LEROY

Ben LeRoy was the founder and publisher of both Bleak House Books and Tyrus Books, two critically respected imprints of crime and literary fiction. Ben has worked with award winning and best selling authors including Reed Farrel Coleman, Victoria Houston, and Ann Garvin. He is especially interested in books that explore the human condition through the prism of tragedy and its aftermath be it in crime, literary, or commercial fiction. He is equally excited to work with established and debut authors alike. He lives in Madison, WI but has visited all 50 States and is deeply intrigued by books taking place in underrepresented locales and communities.

TONI KIRKPATRICK

Senior Acquisitions Editor Toni Kirkpatrick began her publishing career at St. Martin’s Press, where she worked for more than a decade acquiring historical and women’s fiction. She joined Crooked Lane Books and Alcove Press in 2019 and is looking for book club fiction that is provocative, humorous, and/or haunting. Toni loves reading about women in history and is drawn to biographical novels about remarkable but maybe not-well-known historical women of any time period. She would love to find stories that highlight contemporary women’s issues, common or odd family dynamics, female friendships, motherhood, and the immigrant or multicultural experience. She is very interested in novels by diverse writers, especially those writing from Latina/o/x, Afro-Latina/o/x, or indigenous perspectives. Works that step into speculative territory are welcome.

HOLLY INGRAHAM

Senior Editor Holly Ingraham is an award-winning editor with over a decade’s worth of industry experience. She started her publishing career as the agency assistant at BookEnds Literary in 2008, then spent ten years as an in-house acquisitions editor for St. Martin’s Press, where she worked with numerous New York Times and USA Today bestselling authors, and helped launch debut authors who have gone on to have long, successful careers. She launched Holly Ingraham Editorial in March 2018 where she worked with large traditional publishing houses as well as private clients that range from aspiring writers to New York Times bestselling authors. She lives just outside of NYC with her husband, twin daughters, and two furbabies.

JESSICA RENHEIM

Jessica Renheim, Senior Acquisitions Editor, joined Crooked Lane Books in December 2019, one year after relocating to Gothenburg, Sweden. She spent the previous eleven years at Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House, where she focused on thrillers, crime, suspense, smart commercial fiction, and select narrative nonfiction. Jess has worked with established New York Times bestsellers, Edgar-award winners, and critically acclaimed debut authors. Authors she has had the privilege of working with include Jussi Adler-Olsen, Jospeh Finder, Meg Gardiner, Howard Michael Gould, Richelle Mead, Brad Parks, Bryan Reardon, Daniel Suarez, Brad Taylor, and Holly Watt.

TARA GAVIN

Tara Gavin has always loved books. She began her career very early—reading every book she could get her hands on. Her favorites were the classics, Women’s Fiction and mysteries.

She has spent years at Harlequin Books, where she pursued her love of Women’s Fiction, working with New York Times bestsellers Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, as well as many others. Moving onto Kensington Books, Tara still worked with bestselling women’s fiction authors, but also was able to pursue her love of mysteries, suspense and diverse author voices.

She is excited to be working with Alcove Press and Crooked Lane Books, where the best of all worlds come together—upmarket, commercial women’s fiction, suspense, and mysteries. She loves complex plots that entertain and have deep, emotional characterization. Her wish list when she acquires for Crooked Lane Books include books in the tradition of: Ruth Ware, Lisa Gardner, and Karen Rose. She loves cozy mysteries that contain humor, a community of interacting characters, and animals or crafts. Examples of her favorite types of stories can be found in the books by Anne Canadeo, J.C. Eaton and Mary Marks.

MELISSA RECHTER

Editorial and Production Associate Melissa Rechter graduated with a BA in English Literary Studies from York College of Pennsylvania and a MS in Publishing from Pace University. During her schooling, she interned for a myriad of literary agencies. In her last semester of her graduate studies, she joined Crooked Lane Books and Alcove Press, where she is able to read all the thriller and suspense novels her heart desires.

MADELINE RATHLE

Marketing Associate Madeline Rathle graduated from Louisiana State University with a BA in journalism before completing her master’s in publishing at NYU. She has previously worked at Baton Rouge Parents Magazine, LSU Press, and Peter Lang Publishing. Her favorite genres to read are true crime and historical fiction, but she never says no to a good mystery!

DULCE BOTELLO

Marketing Assistant Dulce Botello graduated with a BA in Arts, Media and Entertainment from the University of Arizona, and with an MS in Publishing from NYU. During her undergraduate studies, Dulce interned at Kore Press, a nonprofit feminist press. She also interned with Macmillan Publishers in the subrights department where upon graduation she joined the special sales division. Dulce loves to read everything and anything
that lands on her lap but has a special affinity for dystopian stories,  thrillers and the occasional fantasy.

REBECCA NELSON

Publishing and Production Assistant Rebecca Nelson graduated from the University of Connecticut with a BA in English and BS in Biology, and she has an MA in English from Kansas State University, where she was the editor in chief of the literary magazine Touchstone. She has interned for Dzanc Books, Amphorae Press, Creative Media Agency, and Ayesha Pande Literary. Her favorite genres include thrillers, true crime, and YA, and she also enjoys bookclub fiction and popular science.

DOUG WHITE

Director of Publishing Operations Doug White began his publishing career as a bookseller and soon moved into publishing operations, purchasing and sales.  He has sold books to all major North American accounts while working for publishers and distributors including Macmillan, Diamond Book Distributors and Fox Chapel Publishing. Titles he has sold ranged from NYT bestsellers to graphic novels, science fiction/fantasy, children’s books/games/toys.  At Bloomsbury Publishing, Doug ran the US operations group and managed distribution partnerships.  He enjoys reading history and science fiction, keeping one eye on the past and another on the future. He is a proud alumnus of Penn State University.

 
 

MATT MARTZ

Matt Martz, Alcove Press’s publisher, launched Crooked Lane Books in 2014 after eight years at Minotaur Books, the crime fiction imprint for St. Martin’s Press. During his career, he has published New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestsellers. In addition to crime fiction, Matt is looking for books that cross over to other genres, especially reading group fiction. He is particularly drawn to small town settings, stories with compelling family dynamics, and seemingly ordinary characters who harbor dark and explosive secrets. 

Interested in joining the Crooked Lane team?

We’re looking to fill the the following positions:

Position: Senior Editor, Crime Fiction

Location: New York, NY

Position: Freelance Designer
Location: Remote

Position: Intern
Location: New York, NY